Latest Updates of DD Free Dish (DD-Directplus), ABS FREE DISH (ABS2),Dish TV Free to Air Updates

DD FreeDish Updates & News ,Dishtv FTA updates,DD Freedish channel list,Dishtv FTA Channels,ABS Freedish updates from ABS2 and Eutelsat70B updates

IPL on DD free dish / Doordarshan Channels

Doordarshan to broadcast Indian Premier League (IPL) 2018 matches

The feed will be delayed by one hour.


In a big move, for the first time ever, national broadcaster Doordarshan (DD) will be broadcasting key Indian Premier League (IPL) matches for Season 11. This will ensure that the popular T20 league format will be democratized to reach a larger audience across India.

Information with Republic World confirms that the opening and closing ceremony of IPL 11 will also be aired on DD. Sources also say that Doordarshan will be broadcasting IPL matches every Sunday of the tournament. However, there is no confirmation yet on whether semifinals, quarterfinals, and finals will be broadcasted on the national broadcaster.

 The development follows a 50-50 revenue share agreement between Prasar Bharati (Doordarshan) and Star India. The move will mean that Star India, who is the official broadcaster of the IPL will have to share the live feed of the tournament with Doordarshan under the Sports Broadcasting Signals Act, 2007.

As per a 2017 report, Doordarshan’s national viewership in the year 2016 was 172 million per week, which means that the popular IPL format will get a massive boost in viewership beyond Urban India.

Earlier, in December 2017, the Information and Broadcasting (I&B) Ministry had put forward a proposal to make IPL available on Doordarshan. The I&B ministry then asked the Sports Ministry to look into the matter.

Star India, in September 2017, won the broadcast rights for the IPL for the next five years for a whopping sum of Rs 16,347.50 crore.

IPL is all set to kickstart this weekend at 8 pm (IST) on April 7 when Mumbai Indians take on Chennai Super Kings. There will be 56 matches played between April 7 and May 20, after which the qualifier rounds will take place between May 22 and May 25. The final of the IPL 11 will be held in Mumbai on May 27.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

DD Free Dish (DD-Directplus), ABS FREE DISH, © 2017 Frontier Theme